Image

I’ve been thinking lately about how we often refer to what we do in the church as “my ministry.”  Isn’t that an oxymoron? 

I don’t know about you, but too often I have referred to something with the words “That’s my ministry”…which can often lead to thinking the ministry I do is, in fact, mine.  In other words, it is what I do, what I control and what I do “for” the church.

Shouldn’t it be what we do together for the church’s ministry?  Shouldn’t it be “our” ministry?

No one of us can do the work we do by ourselves…as much as we’d like to think so.  We are all in this together (like it or not) and must learn to do the ministry of the church together.  In fact, that’s part of what discipleship is about: trusting, leaning on, learning from others so that what we do together is better than what we do alone.

Think about it: if a football player thinks and acts as though it is his actions alone that helps the team to win, try having him play all the positions by himself against the other team…and watch how quickly the other team overpowers the lone player.  The whole team must work together to play at it’s best.

So, when we’re doing ministry in the church, remember this: WE ARE ALL IN THIS TOGETHER!

