ImageRecently, my wife and I were in a city to which I had not been in a long time.  It is a great city; we enjoy this city.  We ended up spending the night there.

The next morning, I got up and, as is often the case, had a strong desire of Starbucks.  So, off I went.  I left the parking lot of the hotel, came to a traffic light and read the highway signs above to see which way I needed to go to get on the correct street.  There it was: Dodge Street east.  Turn right.  So, what did I do?  I turned left.  Why?  Because I couldn’t see where the street to the right led; it looked as though it would take me in the opposite direction I needed to go.  So I did what looked like the right thing.

I was wrong.  The left turn I made did, indeed, take me the wrong way.  Later, I discovered that if I had trusted the signs, I would have been taken in the direction I needed to go, even though it looked like it was wrong.

Sometimes, you and I do what we think is the right thing simply because it looks more “right” than the alternative.  Even when we know, deep down, that we should trust even that which may feel or look incorrect, we trust our own judgments and end up in the wrong place.

Faith means trusting the signs.  They may not always point in clear directions or they may take us in what looks like the wrong way; but if we trust them, they take us where we need to be. 

Nowhere in Scripture does Jesus tell us that the way he leads us will always be clear.  In fact, he tells us there are a lot of things we won’t or can’t know if we decide to follow him.  But Jesus does promise that he will not abandon us or lead us astray if we only trust him.  Even when – especially when – following Jesus takes us beyond our comfort zone, we can rest assured that he will not take us down the wrong path.  It may not be the path we would have chosen, but it will be the right path. 

All we have to do is trust the Sign.  The Sign will not mislead us.

